WA Premier the Hon. Colin Barnett and Planning Minister Hon. Donna Faragher today descended on The Pocket to announce new policies to guide the design of the built environment in WA.

Key aspects of the draft apartment design policy – natural light, ventilation and green spaces – were all on show today at The Pocket in Claremont WA where key Government members, representatives from Design WA, Department of Planning personnel and media gathered for today’s event.

The policy, which was today released to the public for comment, will help guide construction of well-designed apartments in WA.

Georgiou Development’s Executive Director Jon Smeulders addressed the media, commenting how Georgiou Living – Georgiou Development’s residential brand – aims to exceed expectations in terms of design and performance in each of their projects.

“We’ve ensured The Pocket engages with the community it sits in, with ground floor activation, some amazing public art and a building that adds to rather than detracts from its surroundings. We’ve made sure our residents enjoy fresh air, natural light and space through the use of clever design. The majority of apartments at The Pocket offer full cross-flow ventilation, are dual-aspect residences and include balconies and living areas that let in plenty of sunlight.

“Georgiou Living is committed to sustainable development, and we’ve achieved an average 8-Star NATHERS rating across The Pocket – comfortably outperforming the 6 Star minimum BCA standard. We’ve provided double glazing throughout, low energy LED standard and solar-powered common area lighting, hot water supplied by an energy efficient gas-powered heat pump, electric car bays and charge stations and secure bike racks.

“As our city continues to evolve, apartment living is increasingly becoming a key part of the fabric in housing our growing population. It’s crucial that new apartment projects are held to design standards that ensure new projects are attractive, sustainable and functional parts of our communities.”

To read the full release by Planning Minister the Hon. Donna Faragher, click here.